Virat Kohli becomes first Indian captain to win Test and ODI series in Australia

first_img Rohan Sen MelbourneJanuary 18, 2019UPDATED: January 18, 2019 16:49 IST Virat Kohli will return to India with two trophies in his kitty as India clinched the Test and ODI series (AP Photo)HIGHLIGHTSIndia won the final ODI by 7 wickets to clinch the 3-match series 2-1Virat Kohli had earlier led India to a 2-1 win in the Test seriesIndia will return back home from Australia without losing a series for the first timeBrief Scores: India (234/3; Dhoni 87*, Jadhav 61*) beat Australia (230; Chahal 6 for 42) by 7 wickets to win ODI series 2-1. Full ScorecardIndia captain Virat Kohli will return home with a big smile and two trophies in his bag as India clinched the ODI series 2-1 against Australia on Friday after winning the Border-Gavaskar series earlier this month.India defeated Australia by 7 wickets in the third and final ODI to win their first ever bilateral ODI series Down Under.India needed 231 to win the match at the Melbourne Cricket Ground which they managed to do in 49.2 overs with MS Dhoni remaining unbeaten on 87 while Kedar Jadhav made 61 not out.The duo were involved in a 121-run unbeaten partnership for the fourth wicket which made the chase seem like a walk in the park for India.What a run-chase. The Dhoni-Jadhav duo take #TeamIndia to a thumping 7-wicket victory. India take the series 2-1 #AUSvIND (@BCCI) January 18, 2019The batsmen followed up on a clinical effort from India’s bowlers who bowled out Australia for 230 after putting the hosts into bat.Yuzvendra Chahal was the star of the match as he finished with a record 6 wickets for 42 runs, the best bowling figures by a spinner in Australia in the 50-over format.Chahal beat the previous record held by current India coach Ravi Shastri to become the first spinner to take 6 wickets in an ODI Down Under.Yuzvendra Chahal ripped through the Aussies to claim the equal best-ever ODI figures on Aussie soil with 6-42!#AUSvIND | @toyota_aus (@cricketcomau) January 18, 2019Before Chahal, only seven spinners had taken ODI five-wicket hauls in Australia: Abdul Qadir (5/53) v Australia (MCG, 1984), R Shastri (5/15) v Australia (Perth, 1991), Shane Warne (5/33) vs West Indies (SCG, 1996), Saqlain Mushtaq (5/29) v Australia (Adelaide, 1996), Jimmy Adams (5/37) v Pakistan (Adelaide, 1996), Brad Hogg (5/32) v West Indies (MCG, 2005), Imran Tahir (5/45) v West Indies (SCG).Chahal was ably supported by the fast-bowling duo of Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Mohammed Shami, who took two wickets each.The win also saw Kohli become the first Indian captain to lift the Test and ODI trophies on the same tour in Australia.The Melbourne ODI result also meant that India will return back home without losing a series – Test or limited-overs – on the tour of Australia for the first time in history.The three-match T20I series was shared after Australia won the first game and India took the third while the second match in Melbourne was washed out.The Test series saw India dominate Australia in the first match Adelaide and the third game in Melbourne which helped them retain the Border-Gavaskar trophy. The fourth and final Test in Sydney ended in a draw after rain denied India a chance to push for victory on the final two days.That result made Kohli the first Asian captain to win a Test series in Australia. During the series India also registered its maiden victory in a Boxing Day Test in Australia and became the first side to enforce a follow-on (in the Sydney Test) in Australia after England, who did the same in 1988.The ODI series began well for the home side as they won in Sydney despite Rohit Sharma scoring 133 runs in India’s failed run chase of 289.But the Kohli-led side bounced back in Adelaide with the captain leading from the front with 104 runs as India chased down the target of 299 with 4 balls to spare.Also Read | After no fifty in 2018, MS Dhoni has 3 fifties from 3 ODIs in 2019Also Read | Who will take my interview on Chahal TV? Yuzvendra Chahal wonders after 6-wicket haulAlso Read | Yuzvendra Chahal 1st spinner to take 6 wickets in an ODI in AustraliaFor sports news, updates, live scores and cricket fixtures, log on to Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter for Sports news, scores and updates.Get real-time alerts and all the news on your phone with the all-new India Today app. Download from Post your comment Do You Like This Story? Awesome! Now share the story Too bad. Tell us what you didn’t like in the comments Posted byrohan sen Tags :Follow India vs AustraliaFollow MelbourneFollow Melbourne ODIFollow Virat KohliFollow MS Dhoni Virat Kohli becomes first Indian captain to win Test and ODI series in AustraliaBrief Scores: India (234/3; Dhoni 87*, Jadhav 61*) beat Australia (230; Chahal 6 for 42) by 7 wickets to win ODI series 2-1. India crushed Australia by 7 wickets in the third and final ODI to clinch the series 2-1 at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on Friday.advertisementlast_img read more