ACU’s Josh Sheehy Earns Southland Men’s Tennis Player of the Year Honors

first_imgSecond-Team SinglesNo. 1 William Mottet, Texas A&M-Corpus ChristiNo. 2 Nicolas Mayr, LamarNo. 3 Nikolas Moceanu, Abilene ChristianNo. 4 Carlos Pedrosa, Texas A&M-Corpus ChristiNo. 5 Josh Taylor, LamarNo. 6 Akinori Wada, Abilene Christian Sheehy led the Wildcats to their first undefeated season in Southland Conference play and a No. 1 seed in the 2019 Southland Conference Tennis Tournament. The senior went 18-4 on the year, including a perfect 5-0 mark in singles play, earning first-time all-conference laurels. Ranked No. 112 in the latest ITA Division I Singles poll, Sheehy won both his top-line doubles matches alongside brother Jonathan and closed the season with a seven-match singles win streak. Second-Team DoublesNo. 1 Francois Kellerman/Okkie Kellerman, Texas A&M-Corpus ChristiNo. 2 Paco Bendana/Caleb Dyer, Incarnate Word Abilene Christian and New Orleans make up the doubles first team with the Wildcat pairs of Jackson Fine/Cole Lawson and Nikolas Moceanu/Jonathan Sheehy and the Privateers duos of Johannes Klein/Samuel Armand and Odysseas Papioannou/Nicolas Kramer.Texas A&M-Corpus Christi brothers Francois Kellerman/Okkie Kellerman claim the No. 1 flight on the second team, joined by Incarnate Word’s Paco Bendana and Caleb Dyer at the No. 2 line. Joining Sheehy on the all-conference first team was teammate Riley Tran at the No. 5 slot. Texas A&M-Corpus Christi also places a pair on the top squad at the No. 2 and 6 flights in Francois Kellerman and Kyoehei Yamanaka. Lamar’s Carlos Paton Canal lands on the first team at the No. 3 position, and Incarnate Word’s Oliver Valentinsson earns first-team honors at the No. 4 line. FRISCO, Texas – Abilene Christian’s Josh Sheehy is the 2019 Southland Conference Men’s Tennis Player of the Year, the league announced Wednesday along with its all-conference teams. All yearly awards are presented by Ready Nutrition. First-Team SinglesNo. 1 Josh Sheehy, Abilene ChristianNo. 2 Francois Kellerman, Texas A&M-Corpus ChristiNo. 3 Carlos Paton Canal, LamarNo. 4 Oliver Valentinsson, Incarnate WordNo. 5 Riley Tran, Abilene ChristianNo. 6 Kyohei Yamanaka, Texas A&M-Corpus Christicenter_img The Wildcats and Islanders also account for two flights on the second team, along with Lamar. William Mottet and Carlos Pedrosa represent A&M-Corpus Christi at No. 1 and 4, while ACU’s Nikolas Moceanu and Akinori Wada occupy the No. 3 and 6 slots. Lamar’s Nicolas Mayr and Josh Taylor were voted to the No. 2 and 5 lines. First serve of the 2019 Southland Men’s Tennis Tournament is set for 10 a.m. CT Friday at the Thomas J. Henry Tennis Center in Corpus Christi, Texas. The championship match has a 10 a.m. start for Saturday. More information can be found by visiting the tournament homepage.All-Southland Conference Men’s Tennis Teams and Individual AwardsPlayer of the Year: Josh Sheehy, Abilene ChristianFreshman of the Year: Dimitris Azoides, Abilene ChristianNewcomer of the Year: Akinori Wada, Abilene ChristianCoach of the Year: Hutton Jones, Abilene Christian Finishing off a sweep of the superlative awards, Wildcats’ head coach Hutton Jones claims the Coach of the Year award. Abilene Christian secured the program’s first-ever Southland Conference regular-season title, recorded five individual wins over nationally-ranked opponents and the team garnered six overall all-conference honors. Abilene Christian also took home the Newcomer and Freshman of the Year awards, given to Akinori Wada and Dimitris Azoides, respectively. A Collin County Community College transfer, Wada made an immediate impact after joining the team during Spring Break, winning his first four singles matches and finishing with a 3-1 conference record at No. 6 singles. Azoides, also a late addition, finished second to Josh Sheehy in overall wins with 17 in his rookie campaign. First-Team DoublesNo. 1 Jackson Fine/Cole Lawson, Abilene ChristianNo. 2 Johannes Klein/Samuel Armand, New OrleansNo. 3 Nikolas Moceanu/Jonathan Sheehy, Abilene Christian & Odysseas Papioannou/Nicolas Kramer, New Orleanslast_img read more